a pseudo-photoblog

The all-talented *IIT*-ians??

All with a small know-how-what of the education system in India understand the supposed greatness of IITs, IITians and how extremely brilliant and hardworking kids have to be to crack the JEE and enter the “temples of engineering education” in the nation.

If you havent realized this well enough, well, the IITians help you. . By wearing T-shirts and sweatshirts that read “I am what you dream to be”, “..because not everyone can get into IIT..”, “if INNOVATION needs a new name, WE volunteer” yada yada yada!

Well. . In that case, dont you expect some novelty from them?

No . .I’m not talking about the technical stuff here..

As an invigilator for a 1-hr examination, the only entertainment I have is : watch 60 pairs of eyeballs and see who is trying to copy from whom, and try to sabotage their plans as subtly as possible! (yes. .I cant help it. . I am sadistic that way!)

A look around the examination hall provides you with so many faces with so many expressions…

  • concentrating
  • writing effortlessly
  • thinking hard
  • “do not disturb : oblivious of the world around for the next one hr”
  • “oh, time is flying, i’v to complete”
  • “damn! y din i study?”
  • “does the prof give grace marks just for attempting a question?”
  • “when wd these 60 long minutes get over and when can I run out of this depressing hall?”
  • “is it jus me who doesnt kno? does that fello really kno? how is he filling pages?”
  • “he ditched me! he was supposed to put his paper at the correct angle! x-( “
  • “who of the three fellas whose papers I can see is likely to write the correct answer?”
  • “Qn#4, Qn#4, Qn#4, Qn#4, Qn#4..” (is trying telepathy on his neighbour to make him start answering Qn#4!)
  • “shit! I shouldnt have sat here. . Not a single answer sheet is clearly visible from here! šŸ˜› “
  • “Why the hell does the stupid invigilator keep looking here?”
  • “God! Please please please make the invigilator(s) turn away!”

And add these two when I am invigilating :

  • “Why is she constantly staring at us? Should I smile back?”
  • “Why is she obstructing my view??”

But I am very much disappointed. . My classmates, even at school, used to have better ways of copying. I mean, even 5th standard kids have as much common sense as to realize that you are bound to be noticed if you keep looking at others’ sheets all the time with your eyes popping out in desparation! And I bet, even 2nd standard kids know that exchanging answers verbally is a strict No-No if you dont plan to be caught! As far as my college days were concerned, people were experts at cheating at exams with none of the invigilators smelling anything even slightly fishy!

Instead of repeating myself about how being bookworms for the best years of their lives have affected the IITians’ common sense, I direct you to a previous post

But, thats just about the first years and a few characters who fancy appearing for the same paper again and again..

I think, the behavior pattern depends on which year of BTech the student is in :

  • First year : Sincerely believes he/she can cheat to success even in papers like Computer Programming
  • Second year : Knows that cheating isnt a great help, but tries nevertheless
  • Third year : Is convinced that no one really knows the correct answer, and has stopped considering cheating
  • Final year : Doesnt give a damn about exams and marks anymore. . Concentrate on project or placement yaar!
  • Other years : Is either living in denial and keeps trying to cheat, or has given up all hopes and just sits through the hour gazing out of the window

(Replace ‘year’ by ‘semester’ in the above list for Postgraduate students. . The speed of evolution in their case is attributed to their experience in UG!)

But I digress. . even if it was only fair to clarify that not all IITians behave as stupid as the post describes. .

The moral of the story :

I am not against cheating. Do it, if you can do it without getting caught. . neither at the exam hall, nor at the hands of the TA correcting your papers. But please apply some logic and knack in the deed. . for its an art!!

Note : Just to clarify things. . I’v never cheated at exams. All this is being said only from hear-say gyaan about the “art of cheating” šŸ˜‰

13 responses

  1. balaji

    only REALLY Really really crazy ppl ponder what they do during their vetti time,in this case that’s invigilating..it takes an even crazier type to write it so good,that it takes another vetti person(me) 2 comment on this.either grads all over india r like this or some sanity still prevails in our campuses is for the younger ppl 2 c..(i’m blabbering,aren’t i)

    October 11, 2009 at 11:56 am

    • @balaji
      yes. . u r blabbering. . and no. . all grads students all over india are not like this. . only frnds of crazy ppl like u r this crazy! šŸ˜‰

      October 11, 2009 at 12:00 pm

  2. syamala devadoss

    already you deserve a doctorate for this post of yours.. Do ask for Collin sir’s comments on this paper of his great student. How is that u r either Vetti to the core or too busy always–Nothing in between???

    October 11, 2009 at 12:48 pm

  3. Somehow, I thought people would kill for GPAs at IITs. It seems apart from the a few that fit into the first 3 categories, the majority (I assume) are not so.

    October 12, 2009 at 7:22 am

  4. Andronicus

    1. WHY ARENT YOU AGAINST CHEATING?? I am against it for all the good reasons! If someone indulges in it I’d like to make him / her feel guilty down to the core!

    2. your comparison with kids went in decreasing order.. First they are like friends in school.. then 5th std and then 2nd std! šŸ™‚

    3. People are the same everywhere.. IIT or not!

    October 14, 2009 at 10:17 am

    • @andy

      I am not against cheating when it is done in a novel way without anyone having a clue. . invigilator/TA/prof. .And though I am not against it, it doesnt mean I encourage it!
      Whenever someone cheats and I cant find out, when I come to know of it later, my first reaction would always be “That was smart!” šŸ˜‰

      October 14, 2009 at 10:36 am

  5. Andronicus

    Its like saying I’m ok as long as you murder without me knowing it.. it is still a murder and it is still condemnable

    October 14, 2009 at 10:52 am

    • @andy
      Lets not compare apples and oranges. To clarify things, let me emphasize that I’v been talking only about cheating in inconsequential(!! I kno thats debatable again..) exams like school and college ones. . Where no one is really harmed in any big way by the cheating.

      Dont you think most of the fun/drama wrt school/collg exams came from discussing/finding out “who copied from whom?”, “how did they do it?”, “who got caught, how?”, “i din get first mark cos that fello cheated(!!)” etc etc? šŸ˜‰

      October 14, 2009 at 11:01 am

  6. Andronicus

    Ok..

    1. You’re wrong in assuming no one is affected. People are definitely affected and I have seen that many times!..

    2. Apples and oranges are both fruits and they can be compared in certain proportions. Both cheating and murder are violation of norms and hence can be compared in principle.

    3. No not much of our fun was from who cheated and how. That was never fun. And nothing can be justified because it is fun.

    4. Cheating in schools and college exams is NOT harmless. It is harmful in all its aspects.

    October 14, 2009 at 11:06 am

  7. Haha!Super!I just chanced upon this post. I totally agree that copying is an art! And yeah, cheating is fine as long as one doesn’t get caught. It’s shameful to get caught!:P

    October 19, 2009 at 4:05 pm

  8. @andy :
    4got to continue the good argument over chat. . guess its too late to continue now šŸ˜‰

    @govind :
    thanx 4 visiting
    though i’d prefer to say “It’d b shameful to think I got thru by cheating. . and so, I’d rather not do it” šŸ™‚

    October 19, 2009 at 5:53 pm

  9. Maybe copying is a function of skill and the invigilator. If the invigilator is more careless, its easier to copy. I do not think all of the TAs are so sincere in their work like you šŸ˜›

    October 23, 2009 at 12:51 am

  10. bhavia

    phew!!!cs10423,cs10424,cs10425 šŸ˜€
    the rest you can guess..he he

    November 11, 2009 at 5:53 pm

Leave a Reply

